Relation to Franklin Delano Roosevelt, 32nd President

FDR was descended from my ancestor, Y Tywysog Bleddyn ap Maenarch Brycheiniog, son in law of Tewdwr Mawr ap Cadell, Brenin Deau Cymru, ancestor of Henry VII Tudor. FDR was descended through Trahaearn ap Gwgon Arglwydd Glyn Tawe, (1130 – 1175) who was murdered by Guillaume de Briouze, Lord Nramber, Norman Lord of Brecon County, in the Fenni massacre of Christmas Day 1175. I am descended from Cydifor ap Gwgon (born 1133). FDR’s line descends through Sir Dafydd Gam ap Llewelyn ap Hywel and Sir William Gruffudd, who married Sia^n (Jane) Stradling. There is a famous Marwnad Si^an Stradling by Tudur Aled, which I first read in Blodeugerdd Cerddi Cymru by Prof. Sir Thomas Parry (The Oxford Book of Welsh Verse). I have translated part of it on this blog:

“Cilio’r lloer, cloi’r llan
Cyfrif rhif a rhan”

This is one of the most brilliant and powerful elegies of the Welsh language. The other famous elegy is by Gruffudd ab yr Ynad Coch to my ancestral cousin Llewelyn ap Gruffudd, Prince of Wales. That was written in about 1283. I translate and work some famous lines of Gruffudd ab yr Ynad Coch (Gruffudd son of the Red Haired Judge) in my sonnet “The Ice Man” in “New Poetry”, my third book of poetry, upon which I am working now. I attach what has been written so far. As for my other books of poetry it is in both Welsh and English. My natural dialect is the Swansea Valley (Silurian) dialect, which is being conserved by scholars. FDR was of course a cultured man, a Harvard graduate, and I visited his home at Hyde Park.

afamilylinesrelationtofranklindelanoroosevelt.ZIP


