My Title of Squire

The definitive law of arms is that by Sir Edward Coke (1552 – 1634) in “Institutions” – a Squire is a Gentleman, and a Gentleman is defined to be an eminent person who has been granted a coat of arms under law of arms and letters patent, i.e. qui arma gerit, an Armiger. The grant of arms adds Gentility to a person’s family in prepetuity, so one may be described as “Coming from a Gentry Family”. The Gentry are the lower nobility (Bankston 1751) – nobiles minores. The higher nobility are Peers of various ranks. No distinction is made by the famous Jurist Sir Edward Coke between Squire and Gentleman. A Squire has to have done something worthy to be granted a coat of arms. In my case the award of a Civil List Pension, distinguished service to science, and voluntary work. John Logan in Analogia Honorum, (1677, page 155) writes that “A King of Arms shall grant a Patent for a New Coat”. So it is perfectly clear that the grant of a coat of arms makes the recipient a Squire. The rank of Squire is not conferred merely by ownership of an estate of land, however large. So I am using the word Squire in the legally correct and oldest sense, an Armiger under law of arms. The law of arms is as binding as the common law. So my entire family become members of the Gentry, I am the only Armiger, so I am the Squire. In Scotland the Squire is equivalent to the Laird. I am the first member of the great Awbrey Morgan Family to have been granted Arms for many years. So I become a Squire in my own right, and am included in “Burke’s Peerage and Gentry”.


