Our Distance Teaching and Research Publication Methods

This has been a spectacularly successful development made possible by the knowledge revolution that followed the development of the world wide web. I was a professor at IBM Kingston, New York when the intra company e mail system was starting to be developed. I had an office situated between millions of dollars worth of supercomputers, the IBM 3084, 3096 and LCAP clusters. Our new system of teaching is based on open access web sites, www.aias.us and www.upitec.org, in association with www.et3m.net. This method of teaching is based on positive reinforcement, such as that used in the Montefiori Einstein Center in New York City or the highly successful Montefiori School near Hyde Park in London. In other words the huge readership (the attached shows only 2% of it from universities, institutes and similar) is drawn to our work by curiosity, and simply likes to study what is sees. If it didn’t, it wouldn’t study it, as simple as that. They teach themselves, and over fifteen years a permanent new school of thought in physics has developed. It exists alongside the standard model in all the best places in the world simultaneously. It is very important indeed to measure the impact of such methods, and the result is attached. The impact is by far the highest in the world for a group of our size. So this is a form of enlightenment that has spread all over the world. Similarly the Montefiore School has the best examination results. The difference is that private schools like Montefiore are very expensive, and we teach openly and freely to all who want to learn. Over fifteen years, excellent ECE scholars have developed in their own ways. I implemented the Monefiore method with students at University of North Carolina, Charlotte, so one lecture a week was left free for them to study and develop the material of the other lecture. So I got good to excellent teaching grades, even though I had not taught before taking up my post there. My aim as a researcher, right from the beginning, was to make ideas freely available to my colleagues. In those days (1971 onwards), there was no highly developed internet, so the only way of measuring impact was by reprint request. As with all genuine artists, I developed my own style very early on. I was fortunate in that my Ph. D. supervisor, Mansel Davies, allowed me to go my own way, there was nothing further he could teach me after a certain point in development. I ran into reactionaries like any original thinker, but one cannot stop the march of ideas. In my own language: “Bid ben bid bont”, knowledge is a bridge to life. The standard methods of teaching are rigidly dogmatic, and based on negative reinforcement by dogmatic examination. If a bright young mind deviates with original ideas, it is usually met with obstacles. As an undergraduate I was diligent and careful not to tread on dogma. I had to get the top first of my year at the EDCL in Aberystwyth to win a postgraduate scholarship. Only as a postgraduate was I allowed to write my own papers, an example of positive reinforcement. I have always regarded careerism to be an irrelevance. I had to have a career in order to conform. A career is an obstacle to originality.

bookofSCIENTOMETRICS3_typeset15.2×22.zip

BookofScientometricsSecondVolume.PDF


