Transfer of Original papers to Powys Archives

I have offered them to the National Library of Wales but it seems that they have a policy of no longer accepting original papers unless they are digitized. However, the NLW does have a collection of all my books, the only library in the world to have a complete collection, and was threatened with closure some time go. Obviously that philistine attitude would be a major disaster for Wales. I do not fully understand the NLW policy about manuscripts, but it seems that they are running out of space. Ystradgynlais Library suggested that I offer them to Powys Archives because they have no space. Also, libraries in Powys are being closed by the London Government, and many books and papers are being lost. This is a disaster for small communities. I have offered the papers to the Bodleian Library in Oxford, as sometime Junior Research Fellow of Wolfson College, and I am awaiting their reply. In fact I have many connections with Powys (genealogy on www.aias.us). My family come from Glyn Tawe and I descend from Bleddyn ap Maenarch, Prince of Brycheiniog through the Lords of Glyn Tawe, who resided in Ystradgynlais and Brecon. I descend in three Norman lines from Powys: the Awbrey, Havard and Gunter Gentry. Many of my ancestors were High Sheriffs of Brecon. Lord Tudor Watkins, Labour M. P. for Brecon and Radnor, descended from the same ancient families of Powys. I realize that they are digitized on www.aias.us and www.upitec.org, but the originals have a clear intrinsic value because I am a Civil List Pensioner. James Joyce for example was a Civil List Pensioner and his papers are valued in the tens of millions. I am hoping that these valuable papers will remain in Wales. I also went to school in Pontardawe Grammar, which is almost in Powys.

In a message dated 31/03/2017 10:26:55 GMT Daylight Time, archive@powys.gov.uk writes:

Dear Dr Evans,

Thank you for your kind offer of papers concerning the www.aias.us website. I’m afraid that our collecting policy only allows us to collect material which directly relates to the geographical county of Powys and its history. Since I could not see a connection to Powys on this website I’m afraid that we are unable to accept your offer.

Have you offered the collection to the National Library of Wales at all? If they have archived the website they may be interested in accepting a collection of papers about it as well.

Kind regards,

Roz Williamson

Assistant Archivist

Powys County Archives Office/Archifdy Sir Powys

Powys County Council/Cyngor Sir Powys

County Hall/Neuadd y Sir

Llandrindod Wells

Powys

LD1 5LG

Tel: 01597 826088

http://archives.powys.gov.uk

Closure period from 15th May 2017

Powys Archives is developing new facilities to provide better strongrooms for collections and new and enhanced facilities for visitors. From Monday 15th May, Powys Archives will be closed to the public until further notice while we relocate to our new facility. Please look out for updates on our website, Facebook (@powysarchives) & Twitter (@PowysArchives) pages.

Subject: Transfer of Original papers to Ystradgynlais Public Library

Thank you very much, diolch yn fawr! I am interested in transferring them to Powys Archives at Llandrindod Wells on indefinite loan because I descend in one line from Bleddyn ap Maenarch, Prince of Brycheiniog, and in one line from Edward Evans and Elizabeth Gunter, married Dec. 1737 in St Mary’s Cusop. There are records of the direct line (attached) in Cleirwy (Clyro), Llowes and Llanigon, around Hay on Wye (Y Gelli Gandryll). I was just about to e mail the Powys Archives to ask them if they can research the direct line in the Powys Archives. The Hereford archives have researched it and informed me that neither was baptized in St. Mary’s Cusop. Cusop is in the Cantref or Hundred of Ewyas Lacey in Hereford County, formerly in Gwent. I am currently waiting for a reply from the Bodleian Library Oxford, which has first refusal, but if they cannot house the collection for some reason I would be more than happy to transfer it to the Powys Archives. Llandrindod is not far from Hay on Wye.

In a message dated 29/03/2017 11:03:18 GMT Daylight Time, ystrad.library writes:

Dear Dr Evans

Thank you for your kind offer but unfortunately we do not have the room in the library to store so many folders. We are quite a small branch. If you are interested I am willing to contact Powys Archives to see if they would be interested in housing your wonderful collection.

Yours faithfully,

Jan Poole

Branch Librarian

From: EMyrone [mailto:EMyrone@aol.com]
Sent: 29 March 2017 10:54
To: Ystrad Library (CSP – Generic) <ystrad.library>
Subject: Transfer of Original papers to Ystradgynlais Public Library

I am interested in the transfer of my original papers to Ysradgynlais Public Library. These are the original papers of the www.aias.us website whch is currently being archived by the National Library of Wales using Wayback Machine software for display in the reading rooms of the copyright libraries and indeed any library around the world. The original papers are in about a hundred A4 folders and are probably very valuable because I am a Civil List Pensioner. James Joyce was another Civil List Pensioner and it is well known that his original papers are worth tens of millions. I am interested in Ystradgynlais because my ancestors come from there, and because you have the books of my ancestral cousin, the late Leonid Morgan. Recently I donated my Autobiography and book of poetry to the Library. Perhaps a special section could be allocated to the Morgan Family, who were and are prominent in Glyn Tawe.

Myron Evans

(Dr. M. W. Evans, 50 Rhyddwen Road, Craig Cefn Parc, Swansea SA6 5RA)


