Main Element of My Coat of Arms

This is the golden lion rampant of the Kingdom of Deheubarth. The same pattern and colours are used on my arms, with extra elements, a silver sheaf of hay to convey the fact that my father, Edward Ivor, was a farmer, (based on the golden sheaf of wheat of Ceredigion County Council), and a pattern of hills to denote the Bannau Brycheiniog, of Brecon Beacons, from the arms of Rhydamman Town Council, signifying descent from the Princes of Brycheiniog and honouring the coal mining industry. The golden lion rampant signifies descent from the Princes and Kings of Deheubarth, notably Hywel Dda. The golden lion rampant also signifies descent from the Kingdom of Scotland, (the ancient Kingdom of Gododdin), it is the golden lion of Scotland used on the arms of Robert the Bruce and the other Kings of Scots. The Norman helmet on my armorial badge records the Norman side of my descent. The two goutes or drops of liquid are in recognition of my foundation of the European Molecular Liquids Group at the National Physical Laboratory. The heraldic descriptions are in my CV.


