Joining St Callwen

Rev. Alun Brookfield,
Vicar St, John the Baptist Callwen,

Dear Rev. Brookfield,

I am interested in joining St Callwen and putting up a stone for my grandparents, William John and Gwenllian Evans. Is it possible to purchase a plot for burial for myself in St. Callwen, or to put up a private chapel in the grounds? It looks like a nice place to be buried. I hope to be around for a few years, but you never know. I am an Armiger and Member of the Gentry, descended from the Morgan Aubrey Family. You kindly looked up an entry for Stuart Davies and myself when compiling the attached genealogy, widely regarded as definitive. I am a Welsh speaking Baptist by upbringing but an ecumenical outlook is a good thing. We discussed genealogy some time ago and all the results are on www.aias.us. Many of the Family are interred at Ty’n y Coed and St. Cynog. I am an agnostic, but hedging my bets in the manner of my distant ancestors, the Vikings. The attached book of poetry contains an englyn to my grandparents, who are buried un an unmarked grave. I would like to put up a stone and engrave this englyn on it, and “Gwyn eu byd y rhau addfwyn, canys hwy a etifeddant y ddaear” (Dr William Morgan 1588, 1620). “Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth”.

Myron Evans

(Dr. M. W. Evans, 50 Rhyddwen Road, Craig Cefn Parc, Swansea SA 5RA).

afamilylinesancestryto1,100 BC.pdf

collectedpoetrybarddoniaeth_2406.pdf


