Meaning of the Award of Arms

Windsor Herald,
College of Arms,
Dear Major Hunt,
As a member of the Gentry I have been included in “Burke’s Peerage and Gentry” following your award of arms in 2008. Many thanks for featuring this in your Newsletter. The arms, excellently designed by yourself using the rules of heraldry, are on the home page of www.aias.us, which contains definitive genealogy of all kinds in which the College of Arms may be interested. In any case you are free to use the data if interested. Your choice of the golden lion rampant as the main element is accurate, because I am descended from the Royal House of Dynevor as attached. This is also the lion of Scotland. My descent from King Tewdwr Mawr ap Cadell (the ancestor of Henry VII Tudor) has been meticulously researched by several excellent genealogists and myself, and using the ancient British genealogies, it goes back to 1,100 B. C. That is the oldest line of my distant Tudor cousin, the Queen. She is very interested in genealogy as you know, and has forty or fifty lines of descent from the Tudors and Stuarts. Can you advise whether the law of arms means that my rank of Gentleman is binding in law? I know that the law of arms is rarely used, but it is still as valid as the common law. My arms were primarily in recognition of the award from Queen Elizabeth in 2005 of a Civil List Pension. There are currently about 53 Pensioners, I guess about five or ten in science. I think that it is important that merit be recognized, and thank you once again.
Happy New Year,
Myron Evans

afamilylinesancestryto1,100 BC.pdf

afamilylinesdescentfromKingLear.pdf


