Enquiry to The National Trust at Dinefwr

National Trust,
Dinefwr Park and Newton House,

Recently I set up the Newlands Family Trust with the aim of conserving this house in which I was born in 1950. It is an original coal miner’s house in good condition and houses a potentially valuable collection of my papers and other artifacts in the manner of the Dylan Thomas Boathouse. I recently visited the National Trust farmhouse at Aberdeunant, Taliaris, Llandeilo and met the caretaker and working farmer Huw Williams there. He kindly gave me contact infomation for Wyn Davies, a historian with interest in Dinefwr. I would like to appoint the best possible Welsh speaking caretaker tenants for this house, and I am interested in the possibility of a cooperation with the National Trust at Newton House and the Newlands Family Trust. I descend from the Royal House of Dinefwr (the Tudor House) and the main element of my own coat of arms on www.aias.us is the golden lion rampant of the Royal House of Dinefwr, the site of the present Newton House, excellently renovated by the National Trust. It may be possible for the National Trust to come to an agreement with the Newlands Family Trust as to the appointment of the best caretakers after my wife and I are gone. They must be committed completely to the Welsh language and to the brilliant and ancient culture and traditions of Wales. They would be succeeded by new caretakers and so on over the initial 125 year span of the Newlands Family Trust, which would be renewed after 125 years under Trust Law. Would it be possible for me to visit Newton House and discuss this with the National Trust and Wyn Davies? My friends and colleagues Dr Gareth Evans and Kerry Pendergast may be interested in a meeting at Newton House with the National Trust and Wyn Davies. Dr Gareth Evans is a Trustee of the Newlands Family Trust and is strongly committed to conservation and the Welsh language. The background to my work is given in comprehensive detail on this blog of www.aias.us . I have offered first refusal of my potentially valuable collection of autograph manuscript papers to the National Library of Wales for safe keeping and accessibility. If for some reason the NLW cannot take the collection I could offer it to Newton House provided it is conserved safely for posterity and never sold, and made accessible to responsible scholars and members of the general public.

Diolch yn fawr

Myron Evans

Dr. M. W. Evans, Gent., Armiger, Civil List Pensioner, D. Sc., Ph. D., B. Sc. (Wales)
President Alpha Institute for Advanced Studies (AIAS)
www.aias.us

Royal Section of “Burke’s Peerage and Gentry” (2012)