Letter from David Daniels

Da iawn i glywed wrthot! very good to hear from you. I wrote up all these memories in volume one of my autobiography, shortly to be published, and preprinted in the blue box above my coat of arms on the home page of www.aias.us. I mention the late Eifion Wyn Jeffries there. Frank Snape, Carole Hopkin (Mary’s older sister) and Cynthia Mullan were also at the school. I tried to write as much about it as I could remember because Neath Port Talbot Council threw away all its records in its ineluctable, profound and infinite wisdom. Carole and Mary Hopkin are my cousins from William Hopkin Cwm Nant y Moel, Craig Cefn Parc (born 1823). I did not know that Eifon Wyn was hit by a cricket bat. Leighton Carter, Lyn Evans and myself attended the funeral, and it was a most horrific experience. Hugh Thomas was my deadly rival and shared the O level School Prize in 1966, and I remember Eddie Williams and Sandra Morgan very well. Are you related to Sir Goronwy Daniels in any way? He gave me my D. Sc. in 1978 and invited me to a reception with Lady Daniels, a grand daughter of David Lloyd-George. Drop in any time if you are back on a visit. 

Myron

In a message dated 06/05/2012 00:22:39 GMT Daylight Time, writes:

Myron,

I was googling my old school and came across some of your comments. I remember you well and your postings brought back many memories of those years. I remmber all the teachers including that awful music teacher Carol who made my life miserable.
I have been following the career of Mary Hopkins ever since she suddenly left school to sign with the Beatles Apple label and begin her music career, and I also remember how shy she was when I first sat next to her in class. She and I were in Charlie Lines’ art class.
I did keep in touch with some of my old colleagues for a while (Hugh “Spa”Thomas, Eddie Williams) but I have lived in the USA since 1976 so I have lost contact with everybody. Sandra Morgan is still involved with the Pontardawe Folk club where i sang for many years before emigrating. I actually still have dreams about my years in Ponty Grammar.
My very earliest memory is of the death of Wyn Jeffries in the first yeat of school – he was hit by a cricket ball.
Regards

David “Dai” Daniels


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

